homecoming

by mmiyachi

My parents recently moved, so coming “home” for Thanksgiving this year brought me to a brand new house in a brand new place. Gone was the familiar bed of my childhood, the weird behavior my sink faucet, the comfort of memories. Since I’ve returned, things feel different.

My baby brother is officially taller than me (sigh). My dad is on a new healthy diet that he likes to call “rabbit food.” My forever-leaky faucet of the past has been replaced by a shiny, nicely-behaving counterpart. So not all bad things 🙂

With all this new, I thought I’d introduce my family to a Cambridge favorite of my own. Bread pudding is a food I hadn’t discovered until college, but since my first bite, I was in lust. Thank you, Flour, for fueling my obsession. This recipe, adapted from their cookbook, is all the things I knew my family would love: fruity, substantive, and the perfect companion to a scoop of vanilla ice cream.

Not everything has changed, though. My dad still tells the worst/best jokes. I’m still capable of spending hours on the couch with my siblings watching movie marathons. And I still always call dibs on the last bite.

Adapted from the Flour cookbook.

Berry Bread Pudding (makes one 8 inch baking dish)

Ingredients:
5 cups of bread, cut into 1/2 inch cubes
2 eggs
4 egg yolks
1 cup sugar
1 tablespoon vanilla extract
1 tablespoon cinnamon
1 cup raspberries
1 cup blueberries

1. Whisk together eggs and egg yolks, then slowly add 1/2 cup sugar, vanilla extract and cinnamon.
2. Stir in bread cubes and mix until completely coated. Put mixture in 8 inch baking dish.
3. Cover and refrigerate for at least 8 hours.
4. Preheat the oven to 300 degrees.
5. Sprinkle evenly with raspberries, blueberries and remaining sugar.
6. Bake until barely set, about 1 hour.
7. Let cool for 2 hours and serve room-temperature or cold.

