winter is coming

by mmiyachi

We had our first snowfall yesterday. Yes, it is not even December – it’s not even halfway through November – and there was snow. That’s just not fair.

I’ve been on somewhat of a fresh food kick (trying to buy local ingredients, that whole jazz – yes, I’m a hippie), so this was a reminder that time is dwindling and I need to start cooking while things are in season. Lucky for me – and for you if you’re into veggies – I recently joined a CSA and literally have pounds of produce that I need to consume at an alarming rate. Watch out world!

When I saw this recipe, I knew it was the one. Squash? Got it! Pasta? Got it! …that’s all I need? Aw yeah.

I felt like Hercules after I cut this thing. Seriously, where is my gold medal for conquering giant squash?

Inspired by The Sprouted Kitchen. Please use your imagination when it comes to herbs and spices. The original recipe calls for paprika, pesto and parmesan – which also sounds delicious! Really, I would just recommend using what you have on hand.

Roasted Butternut Penne (serves 4)

Ingredients:
1 large butternut squash, peeled and cubed
2 teaspoons extra virgin olive oil
1 tablespoon butter
1 teaspoon nutmeg
1 tablespoon light brown sugar
8 ounces penne
1 sprig of cilantro
salt and pepper, for taste

1. Preheat the oven to 450 and boil a large pot of salted water.
2. Place butternut squash on cooking sheet and toss with 1 teaspoon olive oil, 1/2 tablespoon butter, nutmeg, salt and pepper. Bake for about 20 minutes or until starts to brown.
3. Cook the pasta according to directions, keeping about 1/2 cup of cooking water.
4. Toss pasta with remaining olive oil, remaining butter and cilantro. Combine with butternut squash.
5. Garnish with pepper and serve.

